Pacific Symphony: Cathedrals of Sound

Pacific Symphony: Cathedrals of Sound

Carl St.Clair, conductor Nobertine Fathers of St. Michael’s Abbey Clemens Prokop, visual design Pacific Symphony

BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 8

Composer Hugo Wolf called Bruckner’s Eighth “the creation of a giant, surpassing in spiritual dimension and magnitude all the other symphonies of the master.” Featuring the spiritual voices of the Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael’s Abbey to set the stage and stunning visuals from Clemens Prokop, this monumental work will take you on a journey through symphonic space and time.

Guest Artist:

Norbertine Fathers of St. Michaels Abbey

St. Michael's abbey is a community of Norbertine priests and seminarians in Silverado California.  The community numbers almost 70 members - priests and young men studying for the priesthood.  The Norbertine order (Praemonstratensians) was founded by St. Norbert of Xanten (1080-1134) in 1121 as a reform of the canons regular of the 12th century.  The religious of St. Michael's Abbey live a communal life that features daily chanting of the Office and Mass.

Event Details

  • When: Thursday, November 9, 8:00 p.m.
  • Where: Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall
  • Organizer: Julia Lupton (email)
Register / RSVP